Board logo

Welding...
TurboLocost - 22/10/18 at 04:18 PM

Right I'm an agricultural engineer so welding is no trouble at all

Usually use MIG or stick depending, but have done a bit of gas cutting and welding as well in a pinch (usually used MIG as was always ready to go and stick outside)

Now when I come to weld my chassis I will be doing it all at home, the sections I will cut where I have power (in garden for example) but the welding I will do in my workshop....however I have no power supply!

So I will use oxyacetylene to weld up the chassis

Which got me thinking about a few things...

I dare say most on here MIG their chassis but did any of you use oxyacetylene?

And other thing, what do you guys reckon? Oxyacetylene welding, or bronze braze welding?

Ariel atom for example is bronze welded

big_wasa - 22/10/18 at 05:09 PM

Modern inverter welders should run on an extension lead.

TurboLocost - 22/10/18 at 05:32 PM

I've got a 180amp transformer MIG which I am converting to Euro torch, a small cheap transformer stick welder, and a 160amp good quality inverter stick (which can do scratch start DC TIG if I got the leads) but my workshop is about 80 feet from the house and may annoy neighbours running a cable across their gardens 😂

And Genny to run MIG would need to be 5kw minimum so not cheap!

Hence why thinking of gas welding...

jimmyd - 22/10/18 at 09:19 PM

If using gas I’d go for bronze brazing. Less heat distortion and I believe that’s how Caterham etc were all done. Don’t know if that’s still the case.

JAG - 23/10/18 at 08:38 AM

Yeah - main reason everyone uses MIG or TIG is to minimise distortion from the heat.

Other methods work just as well but your Chassis won't be as straight - unless you take special measures and/or are very skilled

TurboLocost - 23/10/18 at 08:44 AM

Mig and Tig are more localised heat but the wire is generally made so it's harder than the base metal (hence why steels tends to crack at edge of the weld