Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: BEC WITH A GOOD BUILD MANUAL
raydaffurn

posted on 14/3/18 at 09:34 PM Reply With Quote
BEC WITH A GOOD BUILD MANUAL

Looking at building a Bec fancied a busa for the obvious reasons.

Spoke to Westfield who gave me the pricelist for the Kit which is £16.5k not inc engine, dry sump, gearbox, wheels and tyres etc.

Add a few changes to the spec playskool arb and protech shocks and full roll cage an iva cost and the build would over £25k i would imagine.

What other options do i have im looking to spend £15-18k and would like to do a build rather than buy a used one already done.

Issue is im not a mechanic so really looking for something with a decent build manual that i could actually build. Reseaching westfield was the one that kept cropping up.

Going to the stoneleigh show in may for a look about but would like an idea before going.

nelmo

posted on 14/3/18 at 09:57 PM Reply With Quote
You may want to re-consider a BEC if you're a beginner. When I researched my build, they seemed more work than the standard Mazda MX5 or Ford car engines (you need to fit a reversing motor, get driveshafts specially made etc). All the main kit makers are better setup for car engines. Few makers do build manuals and of those that do, I've heard they're not much good. Much better to read other people's blogs and ask questions on forums.

Westfield and Caterham are stupid expensive - look up GBS, Tiger, MNR, Roadrunner - much cheaper.

Link to my build blog in my sig below...

[Edited on 14/3/18 by nelmo]

Build Blog

CosKev3

posted on 14/3/18 at 10:27 PM Reply With Quote
If I was you I would buy a used car engined Westfield thats already registered etc and convert it to bike power.

Assuming you have someone that could help you make the engine cradle and weld the mounting points to the chassis?

[Edited on 14/3/18 by CosKev3]

ReMan

posted on 14/3/18 at 10:46 PM Reply With Quote