Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: New Member - New Project
beardydave

posted on 6/5/12 at 09:04 PM Reply With Quote
New Member - New Project

Hi everyone,

I'm David, and i'm just starting out on a Haynes Roadster project, my first kit car project.

The basis for this is for a Saab powered car, either 4-cylinder or 6-cylinder turbocharged, mated to a modified BMW gearbox.

At the moment i have the SaaBMW gearbox, BMW diff, paddle clutch and a collection of prop-shafts and drive shafts all from a couple of E36 cars, and the book.

The plan is to model as much as I can in a 3D modelling program i have access to through work to enable me to get as many of the parts made out as I can, as my sheet metal skills are near non-existant. I haven't decided whether to trust my own welding or to get that done outside.

The advantage of the 3D modelling is that it will let me change the design quickly and easily to try different things before starting making things in metal, and to change the designs slightly, such as adjustable toe on the rear suspension (to allow for my poor practical skills).

The final aim is for a slightly mental b-road and track day car, with no frills whatsoever. Apart from cruise control which the Saab ECU does built in with just a couple of extra wires and switches. And ABS and TCS as I don't trust my driving without them in something so light and potentially powerful.

I've joined to see if there are any pointers or things to watch out for with the Haynes build, and also to see if anybody has done any of the 3D modelling already which I can "borrow" or trade other models for to save a little bit of time.

Thus far i've got the Haynes chassis and fabricated suspension components modelled, along with the rough dimension blocks of the Saab B234 engine and my custom gearbox. I'll have the E36 328 differential modelled soon too.

NigeEss

posted on 6/5/12 at 11:57 PM Reply With Quote
Hi Dave,