Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Tyres: Compromise between grip and durability.
osdecar

posted on 27/5/13 at 11:52 AM Reply With Quote
Tyres: Compromise between grip and durability.

Hi everyone!

I'm a Spanish young engineer attempting to design a "LeMans style" locost proto. (Like Radical or Funyo cars)

Now I am in the early stages of the suspension design and I am searching for the correct tyre to fit in the car. But I am a bit lost because I have not much knowledge about commercial tyres specs. I have searched in the forum about this topic, but I haven't found anything. Sorry if this is not the place to make ths question!

So,

I estimate the car will weight around 600-800 kg and it will have around 200 bhp. The car will race always on track and only with dry conditions. And I am seraching for a tyre with good grip capabilities but specially with a long longevity (I am not rich enough to change a whole tyre set each trackday!! haha).

I have several possibilities in my mind, but I am plenty of doubts.

Street/circuit Tyre (e.g. Toyo R888): They will have a good grip, but, How many km/miles will they last? Will they get on temperature with a lightweight car?

100% Circuit tyres: Superb grip, low longevity, high price, designed for lightweight cars.

-Avon radial-slick: around 600km each set and 240€ (in Spain) per tyre.

-Hoosier R6: The same price as tha Avon... Longevity?

There are much more options, but all of them fall into one of this two groups.

Can someone with experiences with this tyres help me to make a decission? How long do the Toyo last? And the Hoosier? In terms of longevity/price, Does it worth the difference between the Avon and the Toyo?

Sorry if my english is not the best of the world, if you don't understand anything, please tell me!!

Greetings

[Edited on 27/5/13 by osdecar]

snakebelly

posted on 27/5/13 at 03:05 PM Reply With Quote