Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Newbie Here With a New Build
RX007

posted on 24/3/08 at 10:01 PM Reply With Quote
Newbie Here With a New Build

Hello all, I just want to introduce my self, and a new project that I want to start. I heard this is a great forum for scratch builds which is what i want to do.

a basic over view of what i want is v12 power plant most likely the m70 with the Audi or Porsche transaxle. a full carbon unpainted body, an original body design which im working on not an artist though lol. a steel space frame probably a square tube instead of a round tube since it seems that would be easier to work with. not sure what kind of suspension setup, maybe you guys can point me in the right direction.

I have started the basic frame design on auto cad as you can see in the pics, i would really like some input from you guys especially on my frame.

thats all I can think of now, im looking forward to hearing your responses

Preston

joneh

posted on 24/3/08 at 10:08 PM Reply With Quote
I think the general consensus would be more triangulation over the verticle plain and make a model out of balsa wood first to see how it flexes and twists.

And welcome! (To the Madhouse)

RX007

posted on 24/3/08 at 10:10 PM Reply With Quote
your defenitly right, this is a very basic build just to give you an idea i still need to do the wind sheild and roll cage. thanx for the fast reply!

I actulay bought balsa wood the other day just wanted to refine my design on cad as much as posible so i don have to keep reoing it. also i bought some spry can foam called great stuff so i can make a 1/4 or 1/8 scale body since im not an artist

[Edited on 24/3/08 by RX007]

Kaspa

posted on 25/3/08 at 06:39 AM Reply With Quote