Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Which CAD?
NDC790

posted on 2/12/06 at 05:04 PM Reply With Quote
Which CAD?

Hi all, newbie in fourm.

Been reading for years, but need to ask something........
I want to put some chassis drawings down on paper, got lotos of ideas in my head, but when i got back to them forget where i put them!

Need a simple to use design program, ive got years of experiance in fabrication but none in IT. So i need a simple program.

Any ideas?

Many thanks.

Hammerhead

posted on 2/12/06 at 05:24 PM Reply With Quote
AutoCAD is quite a high end program. You could use AutoCAD Lite. Or even TurboCAD, which I used years ago but was ok.

If you are feeling brave you could try Solidworks. Quite a few experts on here use that and I am just learning it, but I successfully designed and had made some hubcentric adaptors.

It all just depends on what you want to use it for and how complex you want to go.

Someone will be along later to help I am sure.

Welcome to the forum.

BenB

posted on 2/12/06 at 05:26 PM Reply With Quote
I've used http://www.cadstd.com/ in the past. Works quite well too. I've only ever done 2D stuff with it but does the job for me....

I've used the Emachineshop designer software as well...

Otherwise there's Microstation Powerdraft Student Edition (if you're a student....) but that's a full on CAD program...

Stuart Walker

posted on 2/12/06 at 05:53 PM Reply With Quote
ProDesktop (by PTC) is pretty good and easy to use, also similar to ProEngineer when you get a bit more advanced... but I don't think they make it anymore!

Can't go too far wrong with Solidworks or AutoCAD really I'd say...

Cheers

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
D Beddows

posted on 2/12/06 at 06:00 PM Reply With Quote