Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Smelly Hot Water - Any Plumbers Here?
edspurrier

posted on 18/11/07 at 04:04 PM Reply With Quote
Smelly Hot Water - Any Plumbers Here?

My 2 year old house has a distinct rotten egg smell in the hot water. It's a pressurised system. The cylinder and boileer seem to work OK otherwise, though the inlet and heating pressure guages on the cylinder always read 0.

Any thoughts before I give all my money to a local plumber?

Thanks

craig1410

posted on 18/11/07 at 04:41 PM Reply With Quote
Hi,
I'm no expert but going by the following website it is likely to be your magnesium anose which needs replaced.

http://www.uldrinkwell.com/drinkwell/rotten_egg_smell.html

HTH,
Craig.

Markp

posted on 18/11/07 at 05:32 PM Reply With Quote
last time I knew some one with smell water they had a dead pigeon in the water tank
JoelP

posted on 18/11/07 at 06:04 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Markp
last time I knew some one with smell water they had a dead pigeon in the water tank

i heard about someone with a rotten cow in the stream that fed their (rural) house

MkIndy7

posted on 18/11/07 at 06:18 PM Reply With Quote
Is it an old fashioned tank fed airing cupboard type cylinder or a newer mains fed type cylinder?

Only the newer type mains fed cylinder type is likely to have a sacrifitial annode in.

Presuming by saying its a pressurised system you mean the boiler is on a filling loop, have you had to top it up much lately?

craig1410

posted on 18/11/07 at 07:44 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by MkIndy7
Is it an old fashioned tank fed airing cupboard type cylinder or a newer mains fed type cylinder?

Only the newer type mains fed cylinder type is likely to have a sacrifitial annode in.

Presuming by saying its a pressurised system you mean the boiler is on a filling loop, have you had to top it up much lately?