Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Advice needed - newbie - VFR400 NC30 to trike
3verve

posted on 19/11/09 at 11:27 PM Reply With Quote
Advice needed - newbie - VFR400 NC30 to trike

Hi all

First of all, great forum and you all seem to be very friendly and helpfull bunch - therefore me joining the forum.

I have been pondering over the idea of converting my VFR400 to a 2F1R tribike/tricar/Reverse Trike (gosh - there are so many names for these).

I am not quite a newbie at working on cars but the VFR was an impluse buy suggested by a friend and I desp need a project to work on and would like to utilise this very good handling bike.

Have access to a very good TIG welder friend, and he can source any size of stainless/galvanised steel pipes etc.

From a complete newbie standpoint, where do I start? I could really do with some advice on what to do.

I have made sketches etc and searched various designs and the one I really like is
this - a smaller version using the 400cc on the VFR400 NC30 would be ideal.

directions please? I'm a bit lost .... tilting would be nice but with the design in the link I'd be happy with a cruiser three wheeler which may be modified at a later stage to take on a bigger honda engine (a bit of a Honda Nutt here!)

Many thanks in advance for all your inputs and guidance.

ReMan

posted on 19/11/09 at 11:32 PM Reply With Quote
Hi and welcome.
I'd be inclined to leave the good handling bike as it is, rather than buid it to an underpowerd trike.
Do one from scratch with a bigger engine if you must to avoid the worst of both worlds?

mark chandler

posted on 19/11/09 at 11:33 PM Reply With Quote
I had a VFR400, great little bikes, only thing is that you have to work the gears like mad when its just carrying itself, think you may be better off with a 600cc as a minimum.