Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Centre of Gravity Q's
Rodeo

posted on 29/12/11 at 07:19 PM Reply With Quote
Centre of Gravity Q's

Hi All,Im a newb to the site ,cant see the newb intro area ,so thought I would dive straight in here....Apologies if this isnt the site etiquet!
Ive just completed and MSVA'd a new build Reliant engined trike with tube frame etc,but am now thinking I would like to build a 2 seater reverse trike .Im only at the toe dipping stage at the moment. I read with interest a few of the posts on here regarding CofG . I believe below G.L. is best according to the info on here. How do I work this out please?
Thanks

designer

posted on 29/12/11 at 07:29 PM Reply With Quote
quote:

I believe below G.L. is best

You better tell us what G.L. is!

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Rodeo

posted on 29/12/11 at 07:32 PM Reply With Quote
lol! Ground Level
JoelP

posted on 29/12/11 at 07:40 PM Reply With Quote
think you mean roll centre re below ground level, i cant see how centre of mass can be below ground when all the mass is above ground!

Basically, CoG wants to be low, and in a reverse trike, id imagine quite forwards for stability.

Beware! Bourettes is binfectious.

Rodeo

posted on 29/12/11 at 07:43 PM Reply With Quote
Yes,sorry,I got the two things mixed up!
Chippy

posted on 29/12/11 at 11:36 PM Reply With Quote
With regard to roll centre calculation, this diagram may be of assistance. HTH Ray

[img] Roll centre diag
Roll centre diag
[/img]

To make a car go faster, just add lightness. Colin Chapman - OR - fit a bigger engine. Chippy

daviep

posted on 29/12/11 at 11:42 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Chippy
With regard to roll centre calculation, this diagram may be of assistance. HTH Ray

[img] Roll centre diag
Roll centre diag
[/img]

Can you explain for me please