Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: External Projections
boxburn

posted on 23/5/20 at 06:37 PM Reply With Quote
External Projections

Hi all. I'm new to the scene and have a Beetle based Sandrail that I'm working on towards an IVA.

I have a couple of questions regarding external projections that I hope you can help with.

---

Does the theoretical floorline go off of the most "inner" part that the cone touches or is it further under?
By further under I mean imagine if a pen was on the tip of the cone on the floor so it'd be drawing under the vehicle.

In my case, my body frame rails all move outwards from the chassis and center of vehicle before moving back inwards about 2 foot higher. This would mean that the cone touches my chassis for the most part. Would this mean that my floor line is more or less my chassis?

I understand the cross over boundary of external and internal as I have open sides.

---

My next question is, do the external projections only matter on and outwards of the floor line? I don't plan on having anything sharp but the likes of my speedometer is on my "bonnet" which is encased in a plastic housing which is mostly rounded and smooth, with the exception of it's 3 mounting tabs. They're not sharp but they're not 2.5mm radious curved.

---

Tieing into the previous questions, currently my front end is a beetle axle which can't really be radious curved. My plan is to make a tube bumper to cover it. Would this then make my axle fine with no need to try to curve any of it. This same question also applies to the rear as my engine is currently exposed. As long as there is a tube bumper (which is built to comply with how they ask), the engine is fine to be completely on show? Also, what makes a tubular bumper a bumper and not a bull bar. I don't want to cross the line and have a bull bar with no E marking.

---

Thanks for anyone who reads this and any help is much appreciated.

MikeR