Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2    3  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: My Shiny New Panther!
G.I Ginge

posted on 13/12/13 at 06:11 PM Reply With Quote
My Shiny New Panther!

Hi all!
I've just bought Eddie99's Panther that he's been trying to sell for a while. What a lot of fun it is! Anyhow, I'm a COMPLETE novice with kit cars, so will probably be heavily reliant on the collective wisdom of this forum. So thanks in advance.

I have three super-basic questions to get started:
1) I've bought an aeroscreen to go on the car. How do I fit this? I'm presuming I need to drill a few holes through the fibreglass bodywork, but I haven't thought much further than that. I've read about possibly using rubber around the edge so it doesn't scratch the hell out of the bodywork where the screen contacts with the car. Is this a good idea? Where can I buy it?

2) I haven't confirmed this with Ed, but in an earlier post he mentioned that the car was dyno'd at about 110bhp with a 1.8 zetec blacktop engine. Is there no way to get a bit more power than this out of the engine? I drove a 1.8 focus for years and that had about 140bhp. Why the big discrepancy?

3) Ed has removed the grill of the car as he said it was getting too hot on track days. I don't mind the grill-less look, but do think it makes the car look sort of 'unfinished'. Does anyone have suggestions for either a grill that won't compromise air intake or another way to increase cooling that I (an utter mechanical imbecile, remember) could make happen?

Many thanks for ANY advice. It is gratefully received.

Dan

Dave Bailey

posted on 13/12/13 at 06:17 PM Reply With Quote
Ref the cooling.. how is it plumbed? Does the bonnet have any vents to offer a low resistance path out of the car to maximise airflow through the rad?

Dave B

Dave Bailey

posted on 13/12/13 at 06:17 PM Reply With Quote
O sorry WELCOME!
TimC

posted on 13/12/13 at 06:31 PM Reply With Quote