Board logo

Vortex with duratec
andyhaase1 - 8/1/16 at 07:49 AM

Hi, first post so here goes.
I like the look of the vortex kit, particularly the inboard front suspension and round tube chassis. I also like the idea of a duratec engine rather than bike engine. Does anyone on here have one? Btw, I've no previous kit car experience except for a track day in a caterham last summer.
Andy

micksalt - 8/1/16 at 08:53 AM

Best bet is to speak to Marc or Chris on 01423780196. What they will probably require you to do is to send the engine and chosen gearbox to them before your chassis is built. That way, they can make any adjustments to the chassis, and fabricate the pick-up points. When I picked up my kit, they were in the process of putting a Suburu Impreza engine into their chassis, which is particularly challenging given its width, so your Duratec should be a walk in the park.

andyhaase1 - 8/1/16 at 10:31 AM

Thanks Mick,
I'm still researching so I don't have an engine yet, just looking at all the options. How does it work re registration if I were to build it myself with a used duratec?

micksalt - 8/1/16 at 10:42 AM

If you were to use a used Duratec, everything else would either have to be sourced from the donor of the Duratec, or be brand new to qualify for an age-related plate. I suspect the easiest way to make a used Duratec work is to also use a mk3 MX-5 donor, since the gearbox should mate straight up to it. The downside to this, however, is that you will end up on a Q-plate because you've got multiple donors.

The route I'm heading is a mk1 MX-5 1.8 donor car, but adding a third-party progammable ECU now, which should be good for 130-140 BHP. Then, later down the line, I can add a 3-bar MAP sensor, a supercharger and a new map to the ECU, then I'm good for 220 BHP without any internal engine modifications

[Edited on 8/1/2016 by micksalt]

mcerd1 - 8/1/16 at 02:48 PM

A Q plate isn't all bad though