Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Yet another which vehicle thread by me!
daniel mason

posted on 28/7/14 at 10:54 PM Reply With Quote
Yet another which vehicle thread by me!

After months of wondering which tow car I should go for next I've realised a compact van may be a better option. I very rarely have more than 1 passenger and 90% of time it's just me towing to events. I do a few jobs at nights and weekends,but currently do them out of the back of the volvo! It always has rear seats down and always full of tools, race car wheels/tyres etc etc. if I need more passenger room I can use the mrs seat Leon tdi.
I'm struggling with towing capacity as I'm a post jan 1997 driver so a compact van under 2t would be ideal. Budget upto £4.5k so what would you guys recommend? Been looking at the vw caddy 1.9 tdi 104bhp, but they do a 2.0 Sdi also which is less powerful. And the other seems to be a Berlingo 1.6hdi but am unsure of build quality on these.
I can get an 06-07 tdi caddy with average van mileage (circa 80k) on budget but a Berlingo could be 09-10 with not much over half the mileage!
Fully loaded trailer is around 1300-1400kgs so needs to be upto the job!
My main criteria is low running costs and reliabity so what are the options? Cheers

coozer

posted on 28/7/14 at 11:09 PM Reply With Quote
I've got a Fiat Doblo with a 120bhp multijet. The van is rated at 2.1t and so far I've towed a small trailer with a car on the back and hardly noticed it. However I have the MPV version so not restricted to the vans weight or speed limits.

Mines a 2006 version and the newer models are a bit bigger. So far I've had 2 crunches with other cars that sounded bad and apart from some small scuffs its fairing well.

Its a diesel and averages 46mpg. Seats go down or come out to give the same load capacity as the van. Made a bed out of a couple pallets, air bed on top and I stretch out in it OK.