Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Tin-top woes Fiesta Mk 6 1.3 Judder
bigbravedave

posted on 2/2/16 at 10:43 PM Reply With Quote
Tin-top woes Fiesta Mk 6 1.3 Judder

The Wifes fiesta 1.3 Duratech 8V (90k odd miles)has developed a judder and the engine warning lamp is on. It feels like it is running on 3 cylinders or in a rough "limp mode" but has a healthy spark on all 4.

I've disconnected each plug in turn and the engine note drops each time, so I think its firing on all 4. All the vacuum and breather hoses are in place

If you disconnect the crankshaft position sensor the engine stops.

However if you disconnect the crankshaft position sensor it doesn't appear to make any difference. so I'm guessing its that?

I work on industrial diesels for a living and they will run in "safe mode" on just the crank or cam position sensor and flags a code should one of them go down. However pn the fiestas dashboards diagnostic mode under the DTC menu it says "none"

I will see if I can borrow a fault code scanner tomorrow.

Any ideas in the mean time? thanks!

britishtrident

posted on 3/2/16 at 12:05 AM Reply With Quote
Disconnecting sensors tells nothing except the ECU's fall back strategies.

Without running a proper diagnostic scan you will be floundering, and because you have been disconnecting sensors any codes currently set will be invalid so it is case of clearing the codes and reading them when they reset.

Without a code scanner (one that reads live data) all I can sugest is try the Ford usual suspects by cleaning the EGR and IAC valves and checking for vacuum leaks and running a compression test. You could check the lambda sensor is switching hi-lo-hi, check the valve clearances.

[I] “ What use our work, Bennet, if we cannot care for those we love? .”
― From BBC TV/Amazon's Ripper Street.
[/I]

jambojeef

posted on 3/2/16 at 12:22 AM Reply With Quote