Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Hole or no hole ??
nick-york

posted on 3/1/18 at 09:18 PM Reply With Quote
Hole or no hole ??

Hi all .ive just had a new starter motor fitted on the van this morning which is bad enough news just after Christmas. But I noticed this morning that the steering seemed a bit heavier than normal .And on the way home I stopped to check under the bonnet and there was what I suspect to be power steering fluid everywhere and there seemed to be a small hole in the top of the filler cap and it was spraying out of the top ! So should the cap have a hole in the top or not please ?or anybody know what the problem might be please ? It's a 2007 2l diesel vauxhall vivaro .Thanks.
daviep

posted on 3/1/18 at 09:46 PM Reply With Quote
I have no experience with Vauxhall Vivaro, however I'd imagine the power steering system is vented through a hole in the cap.

Was any of the power steering system removed to fit the starter? Does the fluid look normal or is aerated? Only suggestion I can think of is that a slack connection is allowing air to be drawn in to the system.

Cheers
Davie

“A truly great library contains something in it to offend everyone.”

nick-york

posted on 3/1/18 at 10:44 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by daviep
I have no experience with Vauxhall Vivaro, however I'd imagine the power steering system is vented through a hole in the cap.

Was any of the power steering system removed to fit the starter? Does the fluid look normal or is aerated? Only suggestion I can think of is that a slack connection is allowing air to be drawn in to the system.

Cheers
Davie