Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Backup options
Slimy38

posted on 16/10/15 at 09:28 AM Reply With Quote
Backup options

I'd appreciate some input into my backup policy. At the moment everything that I want to retain gets burnt to DVD-R, with the most important stuff getting multiple copies and distributed to family.

However, I've noticed that hard drive prices are now getting back down to a reasonable price, and price per Gb for a 2Tb drive is now cheaper than the equivalent storage on decent DVD-R's. Is it worth me switching to hard drives for backup or better staying with DVD-R?

Either way I'd still do the important stuff to disc, as the volume of data and the ability to make multiple copies is the winner here.

SteveWallace

posted on 16/10/15 at 09:51 AM Reply With Quote
I'm no expert but I guess that it depends on ease of use and how important the data is.

I regularly back up my laptop onto an external hard drive. This is a lot easier than burning to discs and its useful for when I get a new laptop and want to put some of my old files back on that.

However, all its really doing is protecting me from loss of data in the event of a catastrophic failure of my laptop or if its stolen. If the house burns down then the backup drive burns down with the laptop. I've even moved the backup to a separate location when I know I'm going to be away for a while, plus I hide it so that a thief will not take it along with the laptop.

I guess that the ultimate is cloud storage. Everyone is used to their e-mails sitting in the ether somewhere so they don't get lost whatever happens to your house/laptop. If I have an important file, I e-mail it to myself.

My photo archive on here is also safe storage for my build pictures.

Staple balls

posted on 16/10/15 at 10:14 AM Reply With Quote
DVD-Rs break down after about a decade, so useless for long term backups.