Board logo

ermm.. Hi all need a little help
Sp00n - 13/2/06 at 03:04 PM

Hi all, i'm starting my first ever locost build and am looking for a bit of advice, I was wondering just how easy it is to weld your own chassis, being a wlder by trade the welding will not be the problem, but if it is not jigged right it will be a total smeg up, was wondering wether buying a 'donar only' kit would be the best way to go with my first build.
many thanks
chris

DorsetStrider - 13/2/06 at 03:11 PM

A year ago I started to weld together my first chassis... Now bear in mind that when I started I had no experience of welding and since I was not intending to build a seven was working without tried and tested plans.

I'm now about to start welding up my 2nd chassis having desided that I was not happy with the design of the first and spending the last few months redesigning and getting the preparation right this time.

In answer to your question, if you can cut and measure acurately and you work to plans that you know are good I don't see any reason why you can't weld your own (especially if you've had previous welding experience). Build yourself a jig and you'll be fine.

In the meantime welcome to the mad house and good luck with whatever you decide to do.

Jon Ison - 13/2/06 at 03:42 PM

Its a lot of work but building a chassis is all part of the fun,

danro - 13/2/06 at 03:48 PM

Welcome to the club Sp00n!!

If you are a welder by trade you are nearly 50% of the way there!!!
I believe the book rekons the chassis build is approx 50% of the work.
I have spent years building my chassis as I was unsure of my weld quality and only put in a few hours a month.
You know you can weld so you only need to "measure twice, cut once" and away you go!!!
There must be 100s of people with far less welding experience than you who have successfully made good chassis.

Buy the base board, mark it out and clamp the tubes to the board. that is what most of us have done and it appears to be fine.