Board logo

Sierra Front hubs, bottom ball joint
danro - 26/3/05 at 10:19 AM

Hi all, I'm at the stage where I need to make the front suspension.
I'm trying to build the car as much as possible with the single donor.
Having searched the archives I discover that the lower ball joint needs to be reamed out to 14.something degs to accept the maxi ball joint.

So first question.. Are there any other ball joints out there that have the correct angle that could be used?
I have no problem with the prospect of redesigning the lower wishbone to accept something totally different as some redesign will be needed anyway to get the correct castor &camber etc

Question 2. Currently I have the sierra ball joint that fits. Would it be daft to cut this off the donor, drill and tap it toweld it to the lower wishbone? If so why? (I'm no engineer so a simple explaination would be fine )

Question 3 Failing a successful answer to Q1 & 2 what sort of money will I be looking at to get the reaming done?

Many thanks for your help
Danny

flak monkey - 26/3/05 at 10:30 AM

IIRC a Mk2 Astra lower ball joint will fit the standard Sierra taper. Someone else may be able to tell you for certain though.

Welding the sierra one to the lower wishbone isnt a good idea as the heat wont do it much good.

David

JoelP - 26/3/05 at 10:49 AM

the reaming process is cheap anyway, get it done at one of the manufacturers places as they will have the jig ready made to sort it all. I had mine done at MK, maybe a bit far north for you.

danro - 26/3/05 at 12:24 PM

Hmmmm
MK seem to have very little in the way of prices on their website...
http://www.mkengineering.co.uk/start.htm
Even the 'price list' page

Can anyone give me a ball park figure?

Flak monkey - Excellent! i'll investigate this at the local motor factor and report back to the list... Cheers

Many thanks everyone - have a good Easter!

Danny

Liam - 26/3/05 at 12:32 PM