Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: help me choose a camera and lenses please
mads

posted on 4/12/10 at 05:47 PM Reply With Quote
help me choose a camera and lenses please

hey all,
I have seen and read through similar posts as this one on here already but as my budget is slightly different, I was hoping there may be some different recommendations. I am new to photography but hope to be taking it up in the new year and want to get myself a decent SLR camera before the tax rise. Here are a few more details:

Budget: £500 - £800 (hopefully include a lens or two and tripod in that price, as well as carry case etc). May be able to increase to £1,000 but would rather not.

Types of photos: panoramic but probably more portrait ones. Will also use it for sports and racing so need one with good shutter speed (?)

Quality: best I can afford. I've got Adobe Photoshop so want to make full use of it

A viewfinder is preferred and I'm not too fussed about the size of the LCD screen on the back because I can see them better once plugged into my Mac

Functions: not too fussed about fancy stuff like sepia, b&w, accent etc as can do all of that with photoshop. Would like to have features that I might start using later on. I want a camera that can do auto photos now but something I can grow into over the next couple of years.

someone has said that I should spend more on lenses than on the body as i will outgrow the body quicker and the lenses can be used on other cameras. is this true? and what are peoples thoughts on the Canon 550D ?

Thanks all

[Edited on 4/12/10 by mads]

We gain knowledge faster than we do wisdom!

Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, thoroughly used, totally worn out and loudly proclaiming... "f*ck, what a trip!"

austin man

posted on 4/12/10 at 06:03 PM Reply With Quote