Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Valve lapped?!
me!

posted on 11/3/12 at 09:05 AM Reply With Quote
Valve lapped?!

Morning LCB.

Could you have a quick gander at this and let me know if I have gone far enough with the twiddle stick and lapping compound- I've not done this before!

Pre lap:
Valve pre lap
Valve pre lap

Post lap:
Valve post lap
Valve post lap

Valve seat:
Valve seat post lap
Valve seat post lap

A bit of pitting on the valve but other than that I think it's ok?! Comments please!

Thanks.

batteredoldsupersport

posted on 11/3/12 at 09:12 AM Reply With Quote
I'm no expert but it looks OK for a country job. The purists would have you lapping with coarse paste till the pits were out, then fine to finish. What difference this makes I don't know. To performance, none, but longevity, who knows?
jollygreengiant

posted on 11/3/12 at 09:42 AM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by batteredoldsupersport
I'm no expert but it looks OK for a country job. The purists would have you lapping with coarse paste till the pits were out, then fine to finish. What difference this makes I don't know. To performance, none, but longevity, who knows?

No pits = better gas-tight seal = better combustion and bhp per cylinder.

Simples, shnick

Beware of the Goldfish in the tulip mines. The ONLY defence against them is smoking peanut butter sandwiches.

Wheels244

posted on 11/3/12 at 10:06 AM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by jollygreengiant
quote:

No pits = better gas-tight seal = better combustion and bhp per cylinder.

Simples, shnick

+1

While you've got it in bits why not go the extra mile and make it as good as you possibly can.
Just my opinion of course - it's your head

perksy

posted on 11/3/12 at 10:16 AM Reply With Quote
Worth spending time and getting it right imho
Check the condition of valve seats in the head
Mark around the edge of the valve with black marker and let it dry