Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Clunking rear diff
matt80

posted on 18/7/17 at 08:24 AM Reply With Quote
Clunking rear diff

Hi. TOTAL novice hear still looking to buy first car. I am not looking for an exact diagnosis obviously, just peoples opinions for this problem. When I drove the car it made a knocking noise from the rear. They guy told me its a worn bush. Looking into it more I am told the diff could need adjusting?! Does this sound like a common problem or should I give it a miss all together?!
The car is a locost, red top with sierra rear diff.
Many thanks as always

Bluemoon

posted on 18/7/17 at 09:31 AM Reply With Quote
Check over the rear end to make sure nothing is loose, including the prop-shaft bolts..

One mine I torqued up all the bolts correctly and marked with paint so I can see quickly if any bolts have loosened.

They all clunk to a point as the diff is normally hard mounted, but it could be something else best have a fellow locost builder take a look if unsure.

Dan

matt80

posted on 18/7/17 at 09:34 AM Reply With Quote
Cheers Dan. Good advice......if there's anyone in the Surrey area who would be willing to have a look with me I would be very grateful. Obviously I would pay you for your time, thank you.
nick205

posted on 18/7/17 at 10:07 AM Reply With Quote
Dan makes a good point. In kit cars the diff is invariably hard mounted just behind your left buttock. This means any noise/vibration will be more noticeable than in the donor car.

I'd make a thorough check of the drive train and make sure there's nothing loose to be sure though.

Mr Whippy

posted on 18/7/17 at 01:58 PM Reply With Quote
all diffs clunk, doesn't mean they are going to fail

loud rumbling is more worrying but even that with a hard mounted diff is quite noticeable. I think transmission noises can be quite a surprise to folk brought up with FWD cars and cars with no carpets etc can be deafening