Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Cycle Show 2018
nick205

posted on 1/10/18 at 01:52 PM Reply With Quote
Cycle Show 2018

Had a day out yesterday at the Cycyle Show 2018 at the NEC in Birmingham.

As you'd expect lots and lots of amazing bikes to swoon over. Probably my favourite though was the 1992 Kona Explosif below on the Kona stand. For me (44 years old) it's what mountain bikes looked like when I started riding them. No suspension, just gears, wheels, pedals and miles and miles of good cycling.

I still have my 1995 mountain bike now, it worked well then and it works just fine now too.

Daf

posted on 1/10/18 at 02:01 PM Reply With Quote
I love an old bike, although I wouldn’t like to ride that around the trails these days! I don’t think it would get half way around before breaking something, my wrists are hurting just looking at those forks.
nick205

posted on 1/10/18 at 02:36 PM Reply With Quote
I still ride a mountain bike with rigid forks and it's fine for me. Wrists OK and elbows deal the bumps just fine too. In a way I feel it teaches you to try and ride a better line through things and to ride in a "lighter" way if that makes sense. Overall I see far less to go wrong with rigid forks over suspension forks and rigid ones are lighter as well.

Not my photo, but I also saw these at the show. I had a sit in it and have to say it felt really good - not cheap though!

20" front wheels and 26" rear wheel. Mainly standard cycle parts (headsets, cranks, bottom bracket, gears etc.).

[Edited on 1/10/18 by nick205]

HowardB

posted on 1/10/18 at 03:01 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by nick205