Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Duratec 2.0 EGR
Deshy

posted on 14/2/12 at 10:29 AM Reply With Quote
Duratec 2.0 EGR

Hey everyone, I'm new to this so go easy on me

Currently looking at removing the EGR valve on my Duratec 2.0 Focus and I'm looking for some advise and from the looks of the other posts its Flak Monkey's brain I want to pick at! haha (sorry mate) or anyone else of course! The more help the better!

Before I start could someone tell me where the coolant pipe goes after it enters the EGR valve? does it flow into the head? I have seen a picture of the valves location and this does appear to be the case, how do you block it off when using this engine in your cars.. anything special?

Due to the engine still being used in its standard body (Focus) I am planning to fit the blanking plate between the head and the valve so I can keep the electronic socket/control plugged in to avoid a management light, can you think of any problems with this??

From what I have read on here the exhaust side of EGR system is fine to leave (I have a SS Milltek exhaust manifold to go on) do I need to do anything with the inlet side? I know the ST150 versions inlet manifold blocks the EGR system off.. is it worth picking one up to swap it?? not doing any heavy modifications yet like ITB's so hence the standard manifolds.

Sorry for the 101 questions. Hope someone can share there knowledge of this engine as its a bit different vs the good old zetec!

Thanks
Deshy

big-vee-twin

posted on 14/2/12 at 03:24 PM Reply With Quote
Hello mate and welcome to the Forum. Plenty of informative chaps on here to help you.

Below you will see my Duratec it is a ST150, but my inlet manifold has been made to cover the EGR port on the induction side, you will also see the EGR vave blanked off at the back of the head.

The inlet manifold mounts GSXR 750 bike throttle bodies and was made by Fastdan a member on here.