Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Formula 27 Project
alex1991

posted on 31/8/15 at 09:48 AM Reply With Quote
Formula 27 Project

Hi, I've had this a few months and already started altering it to my taste so thought I'd do a thread.

Unfortunately I couldn't build one myself as I don't have enough spare time or a garage (I'm doing my PhD which sucks up 95% of my life and I've just bought my first house and for my student based budget I couldn't get a garage).

My previous car was a mk2 Honda CRX, I built this up from a rust free shell and did a few modifications (port+polished+skimmed head, short ratio gearbox, big brakes, coilovers etc.)

I decided I wanted a rear wheel drive car next and I didn't really need a full sized performance car along with all the costs that go with one so decided I'd look at classics and kits. Saw a few cars but when I found this F27 it looked like it had a really involved and proper build, loads of history and photos and properly registered and IVA'd.

The spec is

F27 wide body
1.8 VVC K series (143bhp) with the later 52mm throttle body.
Inboard front rocker suspension and independent rear suspension.
Calipers all round.
Caterham exhaust and manifold.

Dip beam + Flashers by Andy Bowen, on Flickr
Rear view + spare wheel by Andy Bowen, on Flickr
Caterham wind deflectors by Andy Bowen, on Flickr
F27 Ad photos by Andy Bowen, on Flickr

I started by changing the plugs and put a new air filter on, I also altered the pedal heights and made a bit more space for my size 12 feet.

And now I decided I needed more speed
So I took the spare wheel off and mount (25kg)
Put 14inch KN Minators on (saved 20kg in unsprung weight)
Fiberglass seats (more for leg room but still a healthy 6 kg saving)
Heatwrapped the manifold to help with temperature
Fitted a tacho
Polished and waxed.