Board logo

Spring compressor
efiniste - 7/6/11 at 07:54 PM

Any recommendations on which type to get? There's a couple at Machine Mart for £30 and £45 but I've never used one before so could do with a couple of pointers.
It's for changing the springs on my RX-7, maybe a couple of times until I'm happy with the spring rates. It certainly won't be used everyday.

Thanks,

Steve

mookaloid - 7/6/11 at 08:00 PM

I like this kind myself PRO QUALITY HEAVY DUTY COIL SPRING COMPRESSOR SET - NEW | eBay UK

pekwah1 - 7/6/11 at 08:02 PM

what he said, used the same type with good results!

mad-butcher - 7/6/11 at 08:28 PM

I use the same type myself but a lot more expensive. You'll Probably be OK with the Ebay ones, But at that price I'd be very carefull using them.

tony

tomgregory2000 - 7/6/11 at 08:29 PM

^^^^
Used same sort of thing and they work and i have all my fingers

mookaloid - 7/6/11 at 08:47 PM

quote:
Originally posted by mad-butcher
I use the same type myself but a lot more expensive. You'll Probably be OK with the Ebay ones, But at that price I'd be very carefull using them.

tony

the thing with those - although they are cheap they are very meaty - much better than the single prong ones which look very feeble like these which I wouldn't be happy with Car Coil Spring Compressor tool for uprated shocks pair | eBay UK

ashg - 7/6/11 at 09:13 PM

i have got these laser ones from halfords. not that cheap but they are spot on

http://www.google.co.uk/products/catalog?hl=en&xhr=t&q=laser+spring+compressor&cp=10&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.&biw=1920&bih=1061& amp;um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=shop&cid=13832698595246966772&sa=X&ei=1ZPuTaLlLsWp8QOd1dnKBw&sqi=2&ved=0CFUQ8wIwBA

LoMoss - 7/6/11 at 09:37 PM