Board logo

WTD: Someone to TIG weld lambda boss onto my exhaust? - Near Warwick
nre - 2/10/12 at 09:01 AM

Anyone near to Warwick who can TIG a lambda boss onto my exhaust (section is fairly small and removed from the car).

Beer tokens available!

It's to replace the previous one, bung has now completely seized in place:

Cheers!

[Edited on 2/10/12 by nre]

matt_gsxr - 2/10/12 at 09:10 AM

I am no expert, but why can't you just MIG it (or maybe you don't have MIG).

I've found stainless wire a godsend for repairing saucepans and other kitchen bits where the spot welds fail.
Hence justifying the cost of the welder!

nre - 2/10/12 at 09:14 AM

quote:
Originally posted by matt_gsxr
I am no expert, but why can't you just MIG it (or maybe you don't have MIG).

I've found stainless wire a godsend for repairing saucepans and other kitchen bits where the spot welds fail.
Hence justifying the cost of the welder!

Don't have any welding facilities myself, got it TIGed last time round so seemed sensible to do the same again...

matt_gsxr - 2/10/12 at 09:56 AM

That is a good reason not to DIY

Agriv8 - 2/10/12 at 10:21 AM

have you tried giving the old one a good belt with a hammer strait on the face of the bung ( biggest hammer you dare that wont crush the tube )?

it may crack the sezure and enable you to release !

ATB agriv8

blakep82 - 2/10/12 at 10:33 AM

quote:
Originally posted by Agriv8
have you tried giving the old one a good belt with a hammer strait on the face of the bung ( biggest hammer you dare that wont crush the tube )?

it may crack the sezure and enable you to release !

ATB agriv8

or a blow torch to heat the pipe (but try to avoid the bung) as stainless expands a fair bit more than mild steel, might be enough to help lever it out?

nre - 2/10/12 at 10:47 AM