Board logo

Anyone got one of these?
speedyxjs - 11/9/09 at 07:36 AM

Impact wrench

Air compressor is out of the question due to the cost and i was wondering if anyone has used one of these?

Hopefully it will be powerful enough to undo the crank pulley bolt!

MikeRJ - 11/9/09 at 07:55 AM

Looks very similar to the 24v Clarke impact wrench, and that struggles to undo tight wheel nuts and won't even look at a tight crank pulley bolt (tried it on my mums Corsa).

The mains powered Clarke one isn't too bad, but you really need a decent brand name gun to get the best performance. Unfortunately that means £££.

l0rd - 11/9/09 at 08:09 AM

Me being a noob i have to ask.

How on earth one of these can be better than a 25" long breakers bar?

thunderace - 11/9/09 at 08:17 AM

i have a roybi one and cant even remove wheel nuts you can get a 12v one that plugs into the fag socket in a car that has real power i used one to strip a full car in a scrap yard with no problems.
it looks like this one

Item number: 380157126404

here is a great one Max. torque 450Nm
New Clarke CEW1000 Electric Impact Wrench 240v £49.99
Item number: 150371511296

* 1000 Watt, 230V motor
* Max. torque 450Nm
* No load speed 2200rpm
* No load impact rate 3400ipm
* Drives bolts up to a max size of M12
* Bit holder size ½" square drive
* Includes socket sizes 17, 19, 21 & 22mm and carry case

here is one for £10 that will kick a cordless ones ass

Item number: 320422245848

(have your engine running when you use it it gives you arond 30% more power)

[Edited on 11/9/09 by thunderace]

MikeRJ - 11/9/09 at 08:17 AM

quote:
Originally posted by l0rd