Board logo

New wiring
HAL 1 - 13/2/18 at 06:48 PM

Hi all

Has anyone made their own loom from scratch ?
I'm thinking of doing this for my project but want to find out if it's actually worth it

How did the costs add up ?
I'd like to do it for myself so I'll have more understanding of it, the last part built i bought came with the loom part fitted and took some time to sort out

So wondering if I did the whole thing from scratch would this be better ?
Cheers

paulc - 13/2/18 at 07:12 PM

Just about to start on wiring myself, so I cant offer much help yet.

I'll be interested to see what people have to say.

Nickp - 13/2/18 at 07:48 PM

I bought a Premier loom (off here, not used). Really glad I did, and I'm a trained electronics technician

craigdiver - 13/2/18 at 07:51 PM

stripped the donor BMW loom down to individual cores (cannot believe how many uniquely marked wires there are) and building the car loom myself. The engine loom is original donor item.

Nickp - 13/2/18 at 08:01 PM

quote:
Originally posted by craigdiver
stripped the donor BMW loom down to individual cores (cannot believe how many uniquely marked wires there are) and building the car loom myself. The engine loom is original donor item.

I admire your dedication

peter030371 - 13/2/18 at 08:50 PM

Built mine from scratch. Start with the power stuff out to alternator, starter etc then work on a single circuit at a time. Test each circuit as you go then you should be fine. It's really not that difficult when you do it like this. Mine wasn't a simple loom with dash2 pro linked to ECU plus 8 steering wheel mounted buttons but still enjoyed doing the loom.

HowardB - 13/2/18 at 09:36 PM

I did a loom for my zetec, wrote an article about it for the JPSC newsletter. It was very rewarding, especially when fitted back together and everything worked

I have the car loom to do - nightmare as the previous loom was done entirely in one colour with no markings!

deep joy!

hearbear - 14/2/18 at 12:02 AM