Board logo

Where can I buy fibreglass
corrado vr6 - 20/3/13 at 01:37 PM

Hi there I'm going to be cutting and extending my jago body and ill need to build it back up with fibreglass, can anyone recommend a good supplier for me to order from, also do I need anything specific for strength ie a certain hardner or glass weave?
Thanks in advance
Greg

rdodger - 20/3/13 at 01:59 PM

Try here

tegwin - 20/3/13 at 02:26 PM

I have always used these guys...

http://www.cfsnet.co.uk/

What you need in terms of weave etc will depend on exactly what you are doing...

Smoking Frog - 20/3/13 at 03:08 PM

As above East Coast Fibreglass Supplies.

Resin- includes catalyst
http://www.ecfibreglasssupplies.co.uk/p-1531-lloyds-approved-polyester-resin-including-catalyst.aspx

Matting - suggest 600g
http://www.ecfibreglasssupplies.co.uk/c-921-chopped-strand-matting-ppg.aspx

But bare in mind I'm no expert and have only done small amounts.

Eddie

Slimy38 - 20/3/13 at 03:11 PM

I got mine from East Coast as well.

For the fibreglass experts out there, I heard a rumour that mixing polyester and epoxy resins isn't a good thing. To that end, is it worth finding out what the body is made of first before ordering the resin? Considering the extra cost of epoxy I would suspect they use polyester, but I wasn't sure whether it was worth checking.

Or is it safe to just go for polyester?

CNHSS1 - 20/3/13 at 03:19 PM

+1 East Coast guys, right price and great with advice too

Charlie_Zetec - 20/3/13 at 03:26 PM

I would suggest your current bodywork is made using a polyester resin, mainly as you said, due to cost.

However, I would advise against using polyester resin on any infill panels or similar - "new" polyester (ie. fresh resin) really doesn't bond well to "old" polyester. As such, you're better off using epoxy as adhesion will be better.