Board logo

winterising
sdh2903 - 2/12/12 at 10:49 AM

Hi All

Now that winter is upon us what do you normally do with your cars? At present its just been parked for the past 6 weeks in the garage. Went out this morning to fire it up and the battery is sluggish so that's just been stuck on charge and was toying with draining the fuel.

The car has a carbed R1 engine, any suggestions with what to with the carbs? leave full of fuel? remove and drain?

I do have some winter mods planned but as most are paint related these wont be happening until late feb early march.

Cheers
Steve

Dusty - 2/12/12 at 11:06 AM

Winterising.
Long johns, thermal vest, two more layers and a decent anorak, gloves, woolly hat. Drain the petrol by use of the right foot on any day that it isn't bucketing down but remember to refill with fresh petrol for the following weekend! Well that's how I do it.

[Edited on 2/12/12 by Dusty]

sdh2903 - 2/12/12 at 11:11 AM

But I'm a fair weather driver so what do I do?

As soon as the gritters came out the car went to bed for the winter.

ReMan - 2/12/12 at 11:36 AM

I wouldn't do anything.
Even if I wasn't going to drive it.
OK antifreeze, in the unlikely event of less than -10 in your garage

britishtrident - 2/12/12 at 11:49 AM

quote:
Originally posted by ReMan
I wouldn't do anything.
Even if I wasn't going to drive it.
OK antifreeze, in the unlikely event of less than -10 in your garage

Renfrewshire has seen lows of almost -20c in recent winters, it was -3.5 in central Scotland at 10am this morning.

britishtrident - 2/12/12 at 12:00 PM

quote:
Originally posted by sdh2903
Hi All

Now that winter is upon us what do you normally do with your cars? At present its just been parked for the past 6 weeks in the garage. Went out this morning to fire it up and the battery is sluggish so that's just been stuck on charge and was toying with draining the fuel.