Board logo

Fireblade 919 - attempting to start!
m8kwr - 26/1/20 at 09:05 PM

Hi,

I am trying to get a fireblade 919 (1998) started, or at least turning over.

This is my first time on motorbike engines, so a slight learning curve. I have never even ridden one either!!!

I have the engine semi mounted in the car, and just trying to make sure it turns over before committing to everything else.

The engine can complete, but was missing a few things, like the starter switch and ignition barrel, which following the haynes manual I believe I have wired in correctly.

The original dash comes on when the ignition is turned on, neutral light and oil light comes one etc.

When move the switch to on to then press the start button I just get clicking sound; is this normal? I am not hearing the engine turn over for example. Assuming this might be a starter motor issue (not investigated yet)

I am not trying to put fuel through it, as the original bike didn't have a fuel pump, so need to wire one in. All I am trying to do is see if it is worth continuing with this engine, as I have had it for a couple of years dry stored.

Is there any basic that I need to check?

The bike has a sidestand switch and clutch switch, these have nothing connected to them; would these prevent the engine from starting?

Does anyone have a fireblade with a fuel pump relay and able to give me the colour wires to the original plug connector, as I am unable to find an internal wiring diagram of the relay anywhere.

Sorry for any stupid questions, just trying to learn

gremlin1234 - 26/1/20 at 10:10 PM

quote:
Originally posted by m8kwr
...Is there any basic that I need to check?

The bike has a sidestand switch and clutch switch, these have nothing connected to them; would these prevent the engine from starting?...

I think the switches have to be closed for it to start. check the wiring diagram. is there also a tipover switch?

m8kwr - 26/1/20 at 11:01 PM

I can't see a tilt switch in the wiring