Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: repackable exhaust questions
Moorron

posted on 16/6/09 at 10:36 AM Reply With Quote
repackable exhaust questions

Hi lads I am after same pointers with repackable silencers. Ive got an old R1 can which I was going to convert to a straight through repackable silencer (as moneys tight and all that) but was wondering if anyone has some pictures or comments on how the inner parts mate up, maybe a section view.

Is the perforated inner tube welded to the removable end cap or is it the other way round? And how is the loose end of this tube located into the other end cap? Does it just sit into a swaged tube or is it cut short and just sits in the packing wadding?

Also is there any recommendations for the perforated tube (stainless preferred) and wadding?

Cheers
Andy

Sorry about my spelling, im an engineer and only work in numbers.

Steve Hignett

posted on 16/6/09 at 10:47 AM Reply With Quote
Do a search for more help, but I did one to start you off mate:

http://www.locostbuilders.co.uk/viewthread.php?tid=76640

contaminated

posted on 16/6/09 at 03:42 PM Reply With Quote
On my R1 can the end caps are riveted on and not joined to the perf tube, but beneath these are welded caps - therefore the can is not actually repackable - it just looks like it.
Antnicuk

posted on 16/6/09 at 03:44 PM Reply With Quote
i have just had one made and they fixed the perf tube to the body end and the removable end just had a short piece of tube attached to it which sleeved over the perf to hold it in place. I would say it would make it very difficult to repack if you had to slide the perf all the way down the silencer.

600 BHP per ton, Stylus Brought back from the dead! Turbo Rotary Powered!

bimbleuk

posted on 16/6/09 at 05:59 PM Reply With Quote