Board logo

Question about cams and cam sprockets
pdm - 25/9/09 at 11:59 AM

Hi All

I've been reading up on cam timing but have a few questions re fitting cam sprockets please as I am a complete novice. Info for DOHC is particularly what I'm interested in.

I am ok with what the crank/cam shaft relationship is - i.e. when the valves/open and close in relation to the stroke of the crank.

I'm also ok with the fact that for an overhead cam, the sprocket for the belt/chain must be aligned with the cam so that when the crank turns the valves are opened/closed at the correct time. It seems to be done normally with marks on crank pulley and sprockets against marks on the block - is this accurate ?

What I can't get my head around and haven't found in a search is how do you make sure the cam is in the right place (or should that be correct degree angle)before you fit the sprocket ?

Some websites suggest finding TDC on cylinder 1 and then measuring the valve lift but how do you do that with the head on ?

thanks in advance
Paul

britishtrident - 25/9/09 at 12:17 PM

Methods vary on many engines the timing belt or chain is fitted at half stroke not at TDC---- you have to exactly follow the manufacturers timing instuction for a particular engine or if using an aftermarket cam the cam manfacturers timing data.

MikeRJ - 25/9/09 at 12:32 PM

quote:
Originally posted by pdm
Some websites suggest finding TDC on cylinder 1 and then measuring the valve lift but how do you do that with the head on ?

You simply remove the cam cover and set up a dial gauge on the cam follower (for direct acting system) or on the end of the rocker for systems that use them.

This shows someone setting up the cam timing on a Rover K series engines, they are using three dial gauges in order to accurately determine TDC and to measure inlet and exhaust valve lift.

pdm - 25/9/09 at 12:44 PM

Thanks for both responses.

Bang on with that link - thanks Mike. Now to get one with some more reading.