Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: MGB engine won't start, fires once then dies
bigbravedave

posted on 24/10/10 at 08:07 PM Reply With Quote
MGB engine won't start, fires once then dies

The old man's got an MGB engined car, Its a pretty high state of tune and has always run spot on.

After not starting it for a month, when you crank it over, it fires once, enough for the starter motor to disengage, then it dies as instantly as it fired. It will do this every time you try to start.

It has standard coil, dizzy, ignition etc. embarresingly I have no experience of tradition ignition.

It has fuel, and a spark but im suspecting its an ignition issue.

Help!

MakeEverything

posted on 24/10/10 at 08:10 PM Reply With Quote
Sounds like ignition to me too.

Kindest Regards,
Richard.

...You can make it foolProof, but youll never make it Idiot Proof!...

marcjagman

posted on 24/10/10 at 08:11 PM Reply With Quote
Check the fuel pump by disconnecting the pipe from the carbs, make sure you are getting fuel into the SU bowls, change the points and condensor (common fault)
owelly

posted on 24/10/10 at 08:14 PM Reply With Quote
I'd say check points gap first. Or give it a squirt of Easystart just to eliminate a fuel system fault. Then check for HT shorts (easy in the dark!).

http://www.ppcmag.co.uk

View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
jacko

posted on 24/10/10 at 08:24 PM Reply With Quote
Has it oil in the SU 's suction dampeners ?
View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
blue2cv

posted on 24/10/10 at 08:34 PM Reply With Quote
Did they run a ballast resistor coil on those like the Fords did, had same symptom on a transit once
steve m

posted on 24/10/10 at 09:26 PM Reply With Quote
Potato stuck up the exhaust ?

As i have done it to a problem neighbour and they spent weeks trying to fix the problem