Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Car written off, cant sorn!
Moorron

posted on 10/1/12 at 01:42 PM Reply With Quote
Car written off, cant sorn!

Hi guys abit of a problem that i dont want to end up paying for.

My GF crashed her car on friday and the insurance have told us it is likley to be scrapped, the car has been taken from the drive to be evaluated and they told us as the car might be written off so we have to Sorn it as the insurance is now removed (car still has tax). Problem is i cant Sorn it as we only have the old type V5 and it wont work online, the lazy guys at the DVLA wont answer the phone so im no stuck between a rock and a hard place knowing i will get an autpmatic fine for something i cant solve.

After the insurance have paid out they will get the V5 to scrap the car but its still mine until this happens and im stuck!

Any tips?

Sorry about my spelling, im an engineer and only work in numbers.

loggyboy

posted on 10/1/12 at 01:47 PM Reply With Quote
Is it at your house? if not you cant sorn it anyway as you have to tell them where it is.
You some grace time anyway, so dont panic, if its written off and you keep it sorn it when its back with you, if its written off and you scrap it/pass it to insurance company you can give the v5 to the scrapyard/insurers and fill in the yellow slip.

vinny1275

posted on 10/1/12 at 01:48 PM Reply With Quote
Can you do the sorn declaration at a post office?

afj

posted on 10/1/12 at 02:04 PM Reply With Quote