Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
<<  1    2  >>
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Cooling mk with zx12r lump
Doyleee

posted on 11/2/12 at 07:28 PM Reply With Quote
Cooling mk with zx12r lump

Hi i know this topic has been covered before but its time to do some more work on my Mk zx12r ready for warmer days and the main problem i had last year was when doing track days and playing hard with the car it was overheating, i mean the original kawasaki dials after couple of sessions started to flash.
Its currently got (from what the 3rd previous owner told me)a k10 nissan micra rad, ive fitted an override switch that i keep on on sessions and for 5 mins after switch off also i use engine ice which helped alot but still happens, ive even done snettereton with no bonnet on in pouring rain!!! and still hot!!
Whats best for me to do
1. buy performance rad?
2 .change fan to better one?
3.fit oil cooler??
4. all three??
Im an amauture builder but looking for ideas and would much appreciate any help (that includes you hellfire)pleaseeeeeeeeee

wylliezx9r

posted on 11/2/12 at 07:35 PM Reply With Quote
I would firstly find out if all the plumbing is correct, I've seen some installs that are plumbed incorrectly. My install uses the original bike rad which is tiny, I've never had any problems.
Is the header tank higher than the head of the engine?

[Edited on 11/2/12 by wylliezx9r]

I spent a lot of money on booze, birds and fast cars. The rest I just squandered.
George Best

Doyleee

posted on 11/2/12 at 07:40 PM Reply With Quote
Yes header tank is higher than head of engine (i think will check) and believe its a vw maybe polo.
phoenix70

posted on 11/2/12 at 08:16 PM Reply With Quote
have you got any ducting round the rad to force all the air through it? not a bec but that how i solved the overheating problem with my pinto. Air always takes the easiest route so if it can it will go round the rad, rather than through it