Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Where to start?
joggingjohn

posted on 7/8/12 at 09:56 PM Reply With Quote
Where to start?

Hi everyone,

First post here, i've been a lurker for a fair amount of time now and I think it's time to start moving forward!

I want to build a locost primarily to use up a few years or my spare time and to keep my mind active (I'm a primary teacher and need someone rebellious to do in my spare time).

I have read the Haynes book and aren't much the wiser really. Are there any key books that should be digested? I would love to enter into the 750mc at some point, so I guess this defines my build.

With regards to welding, I am an absolute novice. Any advice on courses, learning aids?

Many thanks for any advice,
John

austin man

posted on 7/8/12 at 10:09 PM Reply With Quote
The haynes roadster wouldnt be any good for the 750 series you need the ron champion book for this I believe

Life is like a bowl of fruit, funny how all the weird looking ones are left alone

ReMan

posted on 7/8/12 at 10:17 PM Reply With Quote
buy a chassis ready done and avoid the learning curve
theres plenty to learn and welding is not the place to start and fail imho

www.plusnine.co.uk
∙،°. ˘Ô≈ôﺣ

Cheffy

posted on 7/8/12 at 10:22 PM Reply With Quote
Hi John,

Welcome to the forum. As suggeted by austin man, your best starting point is probably the Ron Champion book. That will give you a very good idea of a basic build - and how to do it for 250 quid! But seriously it is a good starting point.

I started by reading it, then making a list of the tools I thought I would need (I was lucky in that as an ex kart racer and keen home mechanic I had a lot of standard tools.) I then bought a job lot of steel, taught myself to weld using info I could find on the internet and lots of scrap ends of metal and just went from there.