Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: electric reverse
Sierra

posted on 3/9/12 at 07:47 PM Reply With Quote
electric reverse

Hi guys im new to the kit car scene but im currently on the look out for my first one. to be honest ive seen a few nice mk bec's but whats stopped me getting one is the lack of reverse.
question is if i purchase an electric reverse who can fit it and how much would it roughly cost?
i live down in hertfordshire so ideally someone near me but if not im willing to travel.
thanks

adithorp

posted on 3/9/12 at 08:02 PM Reply With Quote
Yeah you could fit one but... I've been on the road 5 years and just clocked up 18000 miles without one. You just have to think before you park and not stop too close behind other cars. You soon get an eye for spotting a slope to roll down (Issac Newton reverse). At sub 500kg they're not hard to push either should you need to but that tends to just be the occational cafe car park.

If you don't want to be seen pushing then you might not like the comedy electric reverse more.

"A witty saying proves nothing" Voltaire

http://jpsc.org.uk/forum/

motorcycle_mayhem

posted on 3/9/12 at 08:42 PM Reply With Quote
I do have a reverse 'kit' for a Freelander differential, Westfield fitment. removed and occupying bedroom space. It does require some modification to the chassis. I only fitted it to comply with MSA regulations (my sprint competitors got a bit anal in the paddock). Thing is, I never used it in anger on the road, I'd simply push the car.

Only problem was on single track roads. Obese muppets hurl abuse and just sit in their silver cars, inching forward threateningly as you push the car a considerable distance to a passing point, rather than back their car up to one 10 feet behind. Unfortunately, this is (FU) life these days, if you can accept that, you don't need a reverse.

bobinspain

posted on 3/9/12 at 08:47 PM Reply With Quote
I endorse Adithorp's view.