Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Painting fence panels
steve m

posted on 3/6/13 at 07:32 PM Reply With Quote
Painting fence panels

Hi all,

Ive been given the task of painting the fence and shed tomorrow, with a creosote type of gooeie stuff
So, as im an engineer, !! my thoughts turned to my compressor and spray gun, so please tell me, before i do, will it work????

Preferably before i start !

steve

Thats was probably spelt wrong, or had some grammer, that the "grammer police have to have a moan at

Slimy38

posted on 3/6/13 at 07:41 PM Reply With Quote
I bought a proper fence sprayer, pump action to build the pressure and then squirt. It was incredibly hard work, and the creosote had to be so thin to get through the gun that it gave virtually no protection. Oh, and as it ran, it ran through to the other side through the slats.

Next time I'm sticking with a brush and the gooeie stuff...

philw

posted on 3/6/13 at 08:03 PM Reply With Quote
I always use a mix of old engine oil and diesel looks crap though (for the first week or two) until it weathers in

Must try harder

theconrodkid

posted on 3/6/13 at 08:14 PM Reply With Quote
did mine a couple of years ago,thined the creasote down with some old petrol/diesel mix and sprayed it with an old spray gun,done in a jiffy :-)

who cares who wins
pass the pork pies

scudderfish

posted on 3/6/13 at 08:20 PM Reply With Quote
Pay a small child to do it for you; your time is more valuable than theirs.
Slimy38

posted on 3/6/13 at 08:31 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by scudderfish
Pay a small child to do it for you; your time is more valuable than theirs.

Yeah, but you only get the bottom half of the fence painted!

britishtrident

posted on 3/6/13 at 08:36 PM Reply With Quote