Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Possibly (Probably) Silly query about using donor instruments.
John P

posted on 20/2/14 at 08:52 AM Reply With Quote
Possibly (Probably) Silly query about using donor instruments.

This is probably a nonsense but I’m still trying to find a genuinely LoCost solution to getting some good looking analogue instruments and could do with understanding how modern donor instruments work.

The general consensus seems to be that you can’t use donor instruments without the associated OEM engine management but presumably inside the speedo or tacho housing is actually a stepper motor or, on older cars, a moving coil meter. Although I’m no expert on either I assume the reason newer gauges have to be used with the original ECU is that the stepper motor drive is actually in the ECU.

If this is the case then couldn’t this function be done by a separate stepper motor drive getting a pulsed input from either the ignition system (in the case of the tacho) or from a suitable sensor in the case of a speedo?

I suspect my lack of understanding means it seems simpler than it actually is but there do seem to be motor driver IC’s available reasonably so would it be possible to use these to create an interface between the ignition system / speedo sensor and the donor instruments?

I know I’d need someone to actually design the circuit but if it were possible it would potentially open up a supply of almost new instruments at low cost.

John.

MikeRJ

posted on 20/2/14 at 10:48 AM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by John P