Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Carbon or Aluminium framed bike
hughpinder

posted on 25/6/14 at 09:34 AM Reply With Quote
Carbon or Aluminium framed bike

I am looking at buying a new bike, and have decided on a Giant Defy. I can buy the 2013 carbon bike at a good discount, which means it is 'only' about £100 more than aluminium frame of the same spec, so that seems good value. I have no experience of composite bikes.

However, I often transport my bike on one of those tow ball mount racks, where the bike is hung on by its top tube, and have seen many warning that carbon bikes should not mounted this way. Does anyone know if this is actually true? Are they really that delicate? What are the chances of breaking it if you fall off? Are there any other 'special issues' using a carbon bike?

Thanks for any help
Hugh

Wadders

posted on 25/6/14 at 10:57 AM Reply With Quote
Don't claim to be an expert, but I have a Trek Madone full carbon road bike which is 10 years old and has done thousands of miles on our very poor roads, I always leave it hung up by the front of the seat when not in use. No problems so far.
I reckon 80 percent of my cycling club are now on composite frames and talk of failure is tiny, they don't fare so well if you have a big off, but thankfully that's a rare occurance.
If you're buying a new one you should get a warranty to cover manufacturing defects.
BTW I'm not claiming carbon is superior to ally, just different, there are plenty of very desirable steel frame bikes also.

Al.

lewis

posted on 25/6/14 at 10:58 AM Reply With Quote
I have just upgraded to a carbon frame & love it,noticably lighter & feels stiffer,I don't see how the problem you mentioned could affect the bike? Have a look on YouTube about carbon/ally bike strength tests,you might be impressed....not to mention the cool factor

I am a driving god!..........sort of

hughpinder