Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Looking to build
Mj2326

posted on 27/8/14 at 06:30 PM Reply With Quote
Looking to build

Hi there,

I'm looking to build my 1st kit car Im looking for a budget build the car will be used for trackdays and occasional weekend on the road. I would preferbly like to go bike engine power as i've had several trips out in them and thats the buzz i'm looking for!

My background is mostly electrical i was an aircraft electrician in the RAF but now i'm a multi skilled vehicle tech on rolling stock so not completely useless with a spanner but im no welder.

So which is the kit for me i've been eyeing up the tiger avon or mk indy but i then stumbled across aries motorsport and their locost build. I am on a tight budget as it stands at the mo as ive just bought my 1st house and a new car but got about 3.5k left in the pot to get the ball rolling.

Can anyone help point me to something that would suit my needs i know rome wasn't built in a day and it is gonna be a long term project for me.

Thanks

Mike J

big_wasa

posted on 27/8/14 at 06:53 PM Reply With Quote
Gbs zero 7 is another budget kit.

If your in no rush buy a welder it will be another skill and it comes in handy for all sorts.

Slimy38

posted on 27/8/14 at 07:20 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by big_wasa
Gbs zero 7 is another budget kit.

If your in no rush buy a welder it will be another skill and it comes in handy for all sorts.

+1. It's taken me a while to make my chassis and wishbones, but I've only spent £200 in metal. You wouldn't get a chassis for that money, even a set of wishbones would be close.

Mj2326

posted on 27/8/14 at 07:23 PM Reply With Quote
yea cant fault you guys eventually maybe something ill learn but gonna go proven chassis for my 1st build.

yea i looked at the gbs but couldn't find parts just looked again a whole site must of had my eyes closed ha

Slimy38