Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Repairing Fibreglass
neilp1

posted on 25/11/14 at 12:55 PM Reply With Quote
Repairing Fibreglass

I'm going to have a bash at repairing some damage to my rear arch as shown in the photos. This was caused by some cock reversing into me whilst I was away from the car. Unfortunately for me the cock decided not to hang around!!
The crack does run behind the light.
Can anyone give me any good pointer/advice for this repair as I have limited experience on this.

[img] Description
Description
[/img]

Description
Description

AndyW

posted on 25/11/14 at 03:14 PM Reply With Quote
Im sure someone will be along soon with a better answer from mine, but for now I would drill a small hole at the end of the crack, this will stop it spreading further
garyo

posted on 25/11/14 at 04:17 PM Reply With Quote
In my experience, stabilising the damage with good use of hole drilling, and strengthening the wound by laying up some GRP on the underside is fairly easy.

The difficult part is getting a pigment match, and then getting one that stays the same colour over time as the resin fully cures. I presume it gel coat and not sprayed? Can you get a pot of the gel from your manufacturer rather than mixing your own pigment in to while gel then that'll help enormously.

Gary

twybrow

posted on 25/11/14 at 09:31 PM Reply With Quote
Is it a painted surface, or is it gelcoat? Knowing this would help direct you to the right course of action.
spiderman

posted on 25/11/14 at 11:45 PM Reply With Quote
Gaffa tape.

I'll get my coat.

Spider

neilp1

posted on 26/11/14 at 05:43 AM Reply With Quote
Its gelcoat.
Mikef

posted on 26/11/14 at 08:28 AM Reply With Quote
You really need to get the manufacturer name, code and batch number if poss. Still not easy to get a good match and blend in. Lot easier to do if its painted.Personally if you want a really good job, I think I would go the professional route.