Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Motherboard Bundle - Questions
Dick Axtell

posted on 18/4/15 at 03:48 PM Reply With Quote
Motherboard Bundle - Questions

I'm hoping for some interesting feedback on this topic.

Right, my PC has become so sluggish, to the point of approaching full bloody stop, on some occasions. It worked perfectly, when loaded with XP, but ever since having to xfer on to Win7, the overall performance has diminished. So I've been looking around at what the marketplace can offer, and discovered pre-selected motherboard bundles. These seem a distinct possibility for upgrading my existing machine.

Searching here has produced this thread - http://www.locostbuilders.co.uk/viewthread.php?tid=180146.

However, most of the marketplace search results haven't mentioned graphics cards, (either that, or I've misread the sales blurb!). As you may deduce, I'm not a PC expert, merely an "end user"!! So can I use my existing, and fairly old card, or does one buy a new item? Not looking for anything like a supergamer machine, just for the usual web forum browsing and posting, photo storage, scanning stuff, emails, and the ability to upload files to a website.

The graphics interest is purely for the ability to use whichever CAD package I eventually acquire, and to use these on a website.

So which motherboard supplier would you recommend?

Work-in-Progress: Changed to Zetec + T9. Still trying!!

leon51274

posted on 18/4/15 at 04:44 PM Reply With Quote
I know a bit but not a lot but what I would say is ssd hard drive all the way, I've know got 2 pc's running ssd and they make it so much quicker, that and obviously as much memory as poss although I think the max you can run on xp is 4ram as it won't recognize anymore than 4.
gremlin1234

posted on 18/4/15 at 05:01 PM Reply With Quote
most motherboards these days come with reasonable graphics 'on board',