Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: DIY fibreglass painting
Joshy

posted on 17/3/16 at 10:02 PM Reply With Quote
DIY fibreglass painting

I'm getting close to the stage where I'll need to paint my GFRP bodywork (I'm leaving the ali un-painted). What are my options for a DIY job?

I have some experience painting GFRP with rattle cans, specifically a human powered submarine of which I was project manager during my final year at university. I'm wondering if there is a slightly more pro way of doing it however?

cliftyhanger

posted on 18/3/16 at 08:08 AM Reply With Quote
Just etch prime and spray with your paint of choice.
Plenty of advice on the mig-welding forum.

You do need a decent sized compressor, but the cheapish sprayguns do give good results. Do your research on what paint, I think you can get a plasticiser additive that may be handy (though that may only be for 2K stuff)

Talon Motorsport

posted on 18/3/16 at 08:58 AM Reply With Quote
Getting a good pre any thing surface on GRP to work with in the first place would be where I spend most of my time, I use a DA sander with scotch bright type pad but a few hours spent using a lot of elbow grease may keep you fitter! Self etching primer for steel seems to work well as a base if allowed a day to dry then high build primer, cut it back and smooth with 1000 grit wet dry panel wipe clean. Don't forget that fine coats laid over a few sessions is easier to correct if it goes wrong than correcting the one big heavy coating that leads to runs. One day I will write that on the wall to remind myself!
View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
tweek

posted on 24/3/16 at 03:58 PM Reply With Quote
Unfortunately not much help to you given your location, but these guys have a professional paint booth for hire and give lessons: http://ramp-it-up.co.uk/

"oh dear..." said god,
"I hadn't thought of that"