Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: st170 itb's query
leeby

posted on 9/1/18 at 09:59 PM Reply With Quote
st170 itb's query

hi im new here as was told by a friend you are the guys to ask.

currently building an st170 engine on gsxr 750 itb's for a mk6 fiesta project im doing (sorry not a locost), and im using the original st170 inlet, my query is and im sure its been answered a thousand times on here (and i did search), is with the vacuum pipes do i run them to a fpr also when using the st170 manifold do i put a fitting into say number four inlet for brake servo vacuum ??

absolute noob with itb's im afraid

also using acewell dash and have been informed there is a way of converting original gearbox pickup to work with the dash

thankyou

[Edited on 9/1/18 by leeby]

SPYDER

posted on 9/1/18 at 10:17 PM Reply With Quote
Hi Leeby. I take it you are using the ST170 injectors? The little vacuum takeoff should be run to the FPR.
You might need connect all four runners to achieve sufficient vacuum for the brake servo. You'll probably need a vacuum reservoir too. And one way valves in the right places. Many ITBs don't hold much vacuum once they are opened even a small amount.
I put a bigger throttle quadrant on mine. The standard one is tiny and lends itself to on/off operation with little modulation.
Good luck with it.

leeby

posted on 9/1/18 at 10:23 PM Reply With Quote
yeah im using original st injectors and thankyou for the info about fpr, the reason i asked about the brake servo is because a lot of aftermarket manifolds seem to come with just the one take off for the servo ?? ill be using or modifying original servo hoses with the valve in place.

and as im new to this most of what you said about it went straight over my head lol, but ill dig some more thankyou

big_wasa

posted on 10/1/18 at 08:03 PM Reply With Quote
You know the fpr on an st170 is not an fpr but a damper ?
leeby