Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: Making Tonneau Covers
B33fy

posted on 24/2/18 at 09:44 AM Reply With Quote
Making Tonneau Covers

Been struggling to find an upholsterer to make a tonneau cover for the car. Most are not interested in one off’s and others are just plain unreliable.
Considering having a go myself. Anyone made their own covers and any advice guidance etc for a total novice?

softfeet

posted on 24/2/18 at 12:38 PM Reply With Quote
Brockwell's of Kings Lynn https://www.yell.com/biz/brockwell-s-king-s-lynn-1365373/ were highly reccommmended by this chap on the Mad About Kit Cars Forum.

http://www.madabout-kitcars.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3113&highlight=tonneau&page=76

David Jenkins

posted on 24/2/18 at 03:23 PM Reply With Quote
I don't know where you live, but if there are any boat yards nearby then they'll know of a local company that makes boat covers. They are usually made out of material that would be very suitable for a tonneau cover, and will probably be made to a very high standard. All the manufacturing processes are identical, as are the materials.

swanny

posted on 24/2/18 at 04:40 PM Reply With Quote
Have a go at making your own. We’ve just made some half doors and that was sewn on a normal sewing machine without much trouble.

Made a simple surrey top in the past and now starting working a cover for it when it’s parked

B33fy

posted on 24/2/18 at 05:55 PM Reply With Quote
quote:
Originally posted by swanny
Have a go at making your own. We’ve just made some half doors and that was sewn on a normal sewing machine without much trouble.

Made a simple surrey top in the past and now starting working a cover for it when it’s parked

What material and thread are you using. I was going to bind the edges as well, did you do yours?

JeffHs

posted on 25/2/18 at 09:37 AM Reply With Quote