Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Poll New Reply
Author: Subject: BMW M52 Head gasket failure?
CTLeeds

posted on 26/4/18 at 04:05 PM Reply With Quote
BMW M52 Head gasket failure?

Hi,

From first inspection it would seem that the head gasket has failed on my donor BMW engine. It started running rough and I now have the dreaded gunk and condensation on the oil filler cap. I'm no expert on engines but is head gasket failure the only cause of this? I'm surprised as since it's been in the chassis it's only been run a couple of times to prove it actually worked and has never really got hot. It was a good engine when it came out of the donor but has been sat for a couple of years in a dry state prior to being installed in my kit.

I've been quoted over a grand to sort it if it is the head gasket which includes a skim of the head which I could do without shelling out at the moment.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Chris

J666AYP

posted on 26/4/18 at 04:30 PM Reply With Quote
Bad news mate, the chances are high that its the head gasket.

Make sure the water pump has not snapped off the impellors like mine and my cousins did. Both happened after the cars had sat about for years and both needed the head gaskets doing because of it.

BMW in there wisdom use some horrid nylon type plastic rubbish for the impellor wheels and they get very brittle.

Nickp

posted on 26/4/18 at 04:33 PM Reply With Quote
Doesn't sound great, but have you had a look at the plugs? If it's running rough due to HG failure then I'd expect one or two of them to look different (whiter/cleaner, as will the tops of the pistons). Can you do a compression test to see if any have dropped?
Nickp

posted on 26/4/18 at 04:35 PM Reply With Quote
No way should it cost £1K btw. Can't you do it yourself? Parts and a skim should only be about £250, or get another engine? Is yours twin vanos? They're ten a penny.
CTLeeds

posted on 26/4/18 at 05:35 PM Reply With Quote