Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Material for chassis
TurboLocost

posted on 16/10/18 at 06:46 AM Reply With Quote
Material for chassis

Hello everyone, I did try and introduce myself but it wouldn't post it

I'm looking to build a locost/Haynes roadster

I'm a mechanic/Engineer by trade so have got tools and equipment to do it, I will be using box section steel for chassis

How much steel do people on here buy to build their chassis?

EDIT:
I have a Saab B204 still in a car, and am planning on using that engine and remapping to stage 3 (I have the software required) so would be pushing around 270bhp
I haven't decided whether to use a omega box, or to rear mount the engine and gearbox I have yet

If I rear mount I would utilise the Saab suspension and wishbones at least for mock up

[Edited on 16/10/18 by TurboLocost]

voucht
Contributor

Posts 229
Registered 22/5/11
Location 1

Photo Archive Go!
Building: Haynes roadster on the road since november 2014 bu

posted on 16/10/18 at 07:17 AM Reply With Quote
Hi there,

If you want to build a Haynes Roadster, you will find the answer to your question here ("How much steel do I need for the chassis?"

http://forums.haynes.co.uk/showthread.php?t=8123" target="_blank">http://forums.haynes.co.uk/showthread.php?t=8123[url=http://forums.haynes.co.uk/showthread.php?t=8123]http://forums.haynes.co.uk/showthread.php?t=8123

Hope that will help

hughpinder

posted on 16/10/18 at 07:31 AM Reply With Quote
If you are thinking of going mid engined, I suggest you get the Midlana book - not cheap, but big_wasa (i think) on here has one for sale at the moment. It has a list of what to get somewhere in the book.
Have fun
Hugh

TurboLocost

posted on 16/10/18 at 08:10 AM Reply With Quote
Ideal, that give me a rough idea of how much steel is required

I will likely build a 442 chassis as I'm 6 foot 1 and stocky