Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites
New Topic New Reply
Author: Subject: Slightly Excited!
turbolag

posted on 2/5/05 at 06:28 PM Reply With Quote
Slightly Excited!

Still waiting for the book to arrive (blasted bank holiday!), and God I can hardly wait! I've been planning loosely in my head and already plumped on the Sierra rear end. After considering diesel i've dismissed the idea in favour of Pinto or Cologne Ford power.

Now, i'm new to kit car building but i'm pretty handy with tools (ex Nissan and Vauxhall techie, and a good friend is a metal fabricator) so i'm not daunted by the prospect. No siree, what i'm more worried about is the exact format the car should take and the likely pitfalls I should encounter.

I'm 6'3" and nearly 17 stone (lardar5e!). i can fit into a friends Westfield, but can hardly drive it. Is the design easily modified to allow enough room for size 13 feet and an extra inch or 2 at the hip?

What seats? I got a garage full off poop robbed from cars over the years and have a sweet pair of Recaros from an Astra - too big?

What colour, what body material, screen or deflector, which wheels, rear drums or discs, plush or carbon/alloy inside, cycle fenders or wings? What are the pros and cons of the various options, and what tips have you got that could help a keen but inexperienced first timer?

All tips gratefully received and seriously considered!

Cheers in advance,

Rich.

If it ain't broke, you ain't fiddlin' hard enough!

Smooth Torquer

posted on 2/5/05 at 06:53 PM Reply With Quote
Larger chassis

Hi there,
If you want it to be a bit more room why not build a chassis based on the plans at http://www.mcsorley.net/, there are several different sizes (larger by 4 inches across, or larger by 4 inches across and 2 inches in lenght) I think.

I havent used these plans, but others do recomend them. I'm sure someone who knows more about them will fill in the details I have missed.

HTH

Sam

zilspeed